Maine’s 2021 Franco-American Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony

In celebration of Maine’s Franco-American heritage,  the ceremony commemorating Maine’s 2021 Franco-American Hall of Fame induction will be held in the House Chamber of the State House in Augusta on Tuesday, September 7th at 10:00am.

The ceremony will take place in French and English and include music.  Sentiments will be shared to induct nominees into the Franco-American Hall of Fame and include remarks from distinguished guests:

Cultural, Francophone and Academic Affairs Attachée for Québec Government in Boston, Marie-Josée Duquette
Recorded remarks from Québec Premier, François Legault
Senior Foreign Policy and Diplomatic Service Officer, Consulate General of Canada to New England, Marc Jacques
Consul General of France in Boston, Arnaud Mentré
French Ambassador to the United States, Philippe Étienne
Maine Governor, Janet T. Mills

This year’s Franco-American Hall of Fame inductees are:

James Beaudry, Biddeford Pool*
Camille Lessard Bissonnette, Lewiston*
Diane Castonguay, St. Agatha
Rev. Lionel Gerard Chouinard, Augusta*
Michel Courchesne, Lewiston
Hon. Andre G. Janelle, Saco
Alain Jean Claude Nahimana, Portland*
Lise Pelletier, Fort Kent
Hon. Jerome “Jerry” Plante, Old Orchard Beach
Patricia Vashon, Waterville
Senator Susan Deschambault, Biddeford
Representative John Martin, Eagle Lake
*posthumous inductees

Following the ceremony, refreshments will be provided. 

The event will be live-streamed on the Legislature’s House video feed starting at 10:00am.

Scroll to Top